First Catalan Parliament with a pro-independence majority constituted


Originally published at

The new Catalan Parliament started this Monday its 11th term of office, and the first with a majority of MPs supporting Catalonia’s independence. Former president of the Catalan National Assembly (ANC) and number two of pro-independence unitary list ‘Junts Pel Sí’, Carme Forcadell, was elected President of the chamber with 77 votes in favour, 57 blank and 1 invalid ballot. As expected, the pro-independence MPs from ‘Junts Pel Sí’ and radical left CUP supported Forcadell’s candidacy and half of the alternative left coalition ‘Catalunya Sí que es Pot’ in the end also voted in favour.

Continue reading at



About Author

Comments are closed.