First Catalan Parliament with a pro-independence majority constituted


Originally published at

CNA / Sara Prim

Barcelona (CNA).- The new Catalan Parliament started this Monday its 11th term of office, and the first with a majority of MPs supporting Catalonia’s independence. Former president of the Catalan National Assembly (ANC) and number two of pro-independence unitary list ‘Junts Pel Sí’, Carme Forcadell, was elected President of the chamber with 77 votes in favour, 57 blank and 1 invalid ballot. As expected, the pro-independence MPs from ‘Junts Pel Sí’ and radical left CUP supported Forcadell’s candidacy and half of the alternative left coalition ‘Catalunya Sí que es Pot’ in the end also voted in favour. “This 11th term of office is the last from the autonomic period” stated Forcadell during her taking office speech and emphasised that the chamber will turn from a “regional limited Parliament” into a “national and sovereign” one. The Parliament’s Bureau is completed by the two vice-presidents, ‘Junts Pel Sí’ member Lluís Corominas and anti-Catalan nationalism Ciutadans member José Maria Espejo Saavedra, and four secretaries, ‘Junts Pel Sí’ members Anna Simó and Ramona Barrufet, Catalan Socialist Party PSC member David Pérez and ‘Catalunya Si que es Pot’ member Joan Josep Nuet. 85 of the 135 MPs are making their debut in the chamber this term.

Continue reading at



About Author

Comments are closed.